2018 Missouri Legislative Session


Missouri Nondiscrimination Act:

Missouri law still allows you to be fired, denied housing, or refused services simply because you are LGBT. To change this, we need to pass the Missouri Nondiscrimination Act (MONA). But there are some avenues for protection and recourse outside of Missouri law, and it is important to know them. MONA did not pass in 2018, but it did pass out of the General Laws Committee, more information can be found here.

Local laws: There are 16 municipalities that protect LGBT people in some form. Clayton, Columbia, Creve Coeur, Ferguson, Jackson County, Kansas City, Kirksville, Kirkwood, Maplewood, Olivette, Richmond Heights, Saint Louis City, Saint Louis County, and University City include protections against discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity for employment, housing, and public accommodations. Maryland Heights and Webster Groves have inclusive protections for housing only. If you face discrimination in any of these municipalities, you can contact the local government itself.

For more information about laws, policies, and guidelines that protect you in employment, housing, and public accommodations, visit our Know Your Rights pages.


Regular session starts again in January 2019.